Night Hawk wrestlers earn the No. 1 seed for Region 4

The Night Hawks and Beulah-Hazen came into the Feb. 4 match in Hettinger undefeated in the region.  Winner earns the No. 1 seed in the Region 4 dual tournament.  Top two teams coming out of the Feb. 6 dual tourney will earn a spot in the state dual tournament, Feb. 18-20.


The Night Hawks jumped out to an early 12-0 lead as Mason DeFoe and Kyle Burwick both won by falls in the first period.  In the next six matches Beulah-Hazen closed in on the Night Hawks’ lead and only trailed by two points, 18-16.  But the Night Hawks won five of the final six matches to secure the win by a count of 42-22.

Braden Kline’s match had to be the most exciting match of the evening.  He was wrestling Ethan Lagge, the No. 1 seeded wrestler in Region 4 at 126.  Lagge was only leading 2-0 late into the final period but it seemed to me he had been controlling Kline most of the match.  But with 25 seconds left Kline was in the down position and quickly got a reversal and held on to tie the score as time ran out.  In the overtime period he quickly got a takedown to win the match 4-2 and brought the home town crowd up in their seats cheering.

In another match that must be considered a mild upset, the No. 1 seeded wrestler in Region 4 at 145 Joshua Snyder was up against the No. 2 seeded Alec Andress.  The match went into the final period tied at 0-0.  Late into period Andress somehow got a reversal and near fall to win 6-0.

The Night Hawks were without stand out wrestler Cale Schalesky who was injured in the East/West tournament.  Coach Randy Burwick told me that he probably will miss the dual tourney but may be able to compete in the individual tourney on Feb. 13.  Beulah-Hazen was also missing one of their better wrestler in Tyrell Mellmer at 160 who was also injured at the East/West.

106: Mason Defoe (HETT) over Matthew Scheer (BEHA) (Fall 0:57) 113: Kyle Burwick (HETT) over Rylan Sago (BEHA) (Fall 1:31) 120: Jeremy Leintz (BEHA) over Carlos Martinez (HETT) (MD 9-1) 126: Braden Kline (HETT) over Ethan Lagge (BEHA) (SV-1 4-2) 132: Hunter Fritz (BEHA) over Chris Fisher (HETT) (Fall 2:55) 138: Jacob Scheer (BEHA) over Ben Dalley (HETT) (Dec 10-7) 145: Alec Andress (HETT) over Joshua Snyder (BEHA) (Dec 6-0) 152: Tyler Erickson (BEHA) over Logan Lachowitzer (HETT) (Dec 3-2) 160: Damon Cornelius (HETT) over Benjamin Stevenson (BEHA) (Fall 0:35) 170: Ethan Anderson (HETT) over Damian Eslinger (BEHA) (Dec 5-4) 182: Issac Anderson (HETT) over Kaden Sago (BEHA) (Fall 1:34) 195: Alex Barbion (BEHA) over Jacob Schalesky (HETT) (Fall 2:26) 220: Colbey Steeke (HETT) over Denzel Sanders (BEHA) (Dec 5-0) 285: Sam Urwiller (HETT) over (BEHA) (For.)