Moorecroft wins 2017 Night Hawk Classic wrestling tourney

Moorecroft (Wyoming) came away with the championship of the 2017 Night Hawk Classic wrestling tourney.

Ethan Andress goes for the pin during the tournament in Hettinger. (Photo by Jaden Ragsdale/The Record)

For The Record

Moorecroft (Wyoming) came away with the championship of the 2017 Night Hawk Classic wrestling tourney.  After winning titles from 2013-2015 they were dethroned by the Night Hawks who won the 2016 classic.  But Moorecroft brought a strong contingent and were ahead after each of the five rounds and outdistanced the second place Night Hawks by 60.5 points.  They had a wrestler in all 14 weight classes and had six in the finals, although only one came out on top.

The Night Hawks were missing Mason Defoe at 113 who was absent due to illness.  Seventh grader Cade Warbis filled in admirably by going 5-1 but lost in the finals to Chandler Nagel of Linton.  Four of Warbis’ wins were by fall.

The Night Hawks had three wrestlers win titles and all in a dominating manner.  Kyle Burwick went 7-0 at 120 with four pins, one tech fall and two major decisions.  Cale Schalesky also went 7-0 at 132 with five pins, one tech fall and one decision.  Jacob Schalesky went 6-0 at 220 with all wins via fall and all were in the first period.  He was tied with three others in the tourney in having the most pins, but he did his in the fewest total time of 6:03.

Two other teams with multiple champs were Bowman-Beach with Mathew Carlson at 145 and Clayton Mattern at 160 and Harding Co. with Sterling Lee at 170 and Trevor Gress at 285.

There were three matches that stood out for me with exciting late decisions.

In Cade Warbis’ first match he was trailing 7-3, but managed to pin his opponent with a minute left in the final period.  At 126 Chris Fisher was trailing 7-2 after the first period but made a quick move early in the second period and got the pin.  In a semi-final match at 120 Braedon Gumke of Watford City and Dylan Humes of Moorecroft were going back and forth with the lead.  Humes seemed to have the match in hand after leading 12-11 with only 3 seconds left when Gumke made a takedown as the buzzer sounded and pulled out a 13-12 decision.

Night Hawk wrestler Alec Andress was taken out of the 145 competition after going 4-0 in round play.  This was just a precautionary move as Andress was competing in his first wrestling action after he injured his shoulder during the football season.

Voted by the coaches for the Outstanding Wrestler award were Charmayn DeLong of Moorecroft and Dillan Jepson if Killdeer.

2017 Hettinger Classic Results for the Night Hawks:

Varsity 106 – Conner Andress went 3-3 and place is 4th

Varsity 113 – Cade Warbis went 5-1 and place is 2nd

Varsity 120 – Kyle Burwick went 7-0 and place is 1st .

Varsity 126 – Ezra Wiechmann went 0-4

Varsity 126 – Chris Fisher went 3-3 and place is 6th

Varsity 132 – Ty Warbis went 4-3 and place is 4th

Varsity 132 – Cale Schalesky went 7-0 and place is 1st

Varsity 138 – Ben Dalley went 2-5 and place is 8th

Varsity 145 – Alec Andress went 4-0 and place is 4th

(Note:  Andress went 4-0 in round play but did not finish due to medical reasons)

Varsity 152 – Chris Evers went 0-4

Varsity 160 – Ethan Anderson went 6-1 and place is 3rd

Varsity 170 – Issac Anderson went 5-1 and place is 2nd

Varsity 195 – Paul Abrahamson went 3-4 and place is 7th

Varsity 220 – Jacob Schalesky went 6-0 and place is 1st

Varsity 285 – Sam Urwiller went 0-4

Night Hawk results in the junior varsity portion:

JV 95A – Miles Weichmann went 2-2 and place is 3rd

JV 95A – Gavin Dalley went 1-3 and place is 4th

JV 95B – Peyton Tuhy went 3-1 and place is 2nd

Team Results:

Moorecroft – 356.5

Hettinger-Scranton – 296.0

Bowman-Beach – 240.0

Lemmon – 189.5

Killdeer – 167.0

New Salem-Almont – 140.5

Watford City – 138.0

Linton-HMB – 137.0

Harding Co. – 135.0

Baker – 116.0

(11) Standing Rock – 78.0

(12) Dickinson JV – 72.0

(13) Miles City – 55.5

(14) Broadus – 46.0

(15) Kenmare – 14.0

(16) Alexander – 6.0

(17) Burke Central – 2.0