Area students earn scholarships

•Kaitfors awarded Hettinger Area Dacotah Bank Scholarship

Elisa Kaitfors accepts the scholarship form Dacotah Bank branch manager Seth Skogen. (Courtesy Photo)

Dacotah Bank is proud to announce its local 2017 scholarship recipient. Elisa Kaitfors received $500 to apply toward her education at University of North Dakota. She is the daughter of Alan and Pam Kaitfors.

This year Dacotah Bank awarded almost 50 scholarships to graduating high school seniors. More than $30,000 was awarded to students from South Dakota, North Dakota and Minnesota.

This is the 18th year that Dacotah Bank has matched South Dakota Bankers Foundation funds to provide scholarships to assist students in post-secondary success.

An independent panel of three judges, not associated with Dacotah Bank, chose the winners. The applicants were high school seniors whose immediate family has account relationships with Dacotah Bank, Dacotah Insurance, or Dacotah Trust and Wealth Management.

A complete list of Dacotah Bank’s scholarship winners may be found at

•Farm Credit Services of Mandan awards scholarships

Four area high school seniors have each been awarded a $1000 scholarship from Farm Credit Services of Mandan.  Cole Ketterling, Jordan Dilse, Kaitlyn Peterson, and Michael Mayer were chosen for their outstanding scholastic and leadership achievements during high school.

Jordan Dilse

Cole Ketterling, son of  Kermit and Dynette Ketterling, Wishek, plans to major in Agricultural Economics at North Dakota State University (NDSU) in Fargo.  Jordan Dilse, son of Stuart and Katie Dilse, Scranton, plans to major in Agriculture Economics at NDSU.  Kaitlyn Peterson, daughter of Jim and Peggy Peterson, Bismarck, plans to major in Animal Science at NDSU.  Michael Mayer, son of Darwyn and Rachael Mayer, Mott, plans to major in Agricultural Systems Management at NDSU.

The independent Farm Credit Services associations headquartered in Fargo, Mandan, and Minot award scholarships annually to students entering college in the fall.  Recipients must be from a farming and ranching family, or be planning to pursue a career in farming or some other aspect of agriculture.  Selection is based on academic record, personal attributes, vocational promise, leadership and financial need.

Farm Credit Services of Mandan is a member-owned cooperative that supports agriculture and rural communities with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. The Mandan association serves a twenty-county area in southwestern North Dakota, with full-time offices in Beulah, Bowman, Carson, Dickinson, Mandan, Mott, Washburn, and Wishek.

•Address awarded NDSU Harry D. McGovern Scholarship

Alec Andress, son of Ethan and Denise Andress, Lodgepole, South Dakota, received the North Dakota State University Harry D. McGovern Scholarship in the amount of full tuition. The scholarship requires that the student must be going into a major related to science, technology, engineering or mathematics, known as STEM.

Andress will enter NDSU in the fall and plans to major in biology. In high school, he was active in Future Business Leaders of America, Future Health Professionals, student council, Outdoor Wildlife Learning Site, wrestling, football, drama, Quiz Bowl, Science Olympiad and Acalympic Team.