Harvest Bowl

Wayne and Gail Weishaar raise spring wheat, corn, winter wheat, sunflowers, rye, annual forages and cover crops in Adams County near Lemmon, S.D. They’ve used no-till farming practices for more than 20 years and recently added a Shelbourne stripper header to leave more standing stubble in the small-grains fields. They also operate a commercial and purebred Hereford cow-calf ranch, using rotational grazing practices, and they’ve installed about five miles of water pipeline in the past 15 years. In addition, they operate Gail’s family ranch operation in Slope County. They were named the Lemmon Boss Cowman in 2011 and have received honorary state and chapter FFA degrees. Wayne, a 1965 NDSU graduate, also has been an auctioneer and owner of Weishaar Auction Service for more than 43 years and a real estate salesman for more than 40 years. In addition, he served in the North Dakota National Guard for six years. Gail, a 1966 NDSU graduate, has been a real estate salesperson for more than 26 years, a school counselor for 21 years, and a home economics instructor and Future Homemakers of America adviser for 10 years. Both are former 4-H leaders. They have three children.

Excellence in Agriculture Celebrated During Harvest Bowl
The success, dedication and hard work of outstanding agriculturists in 53 counties in North Dakota and nine counties in Minnesota were honored during the 44th annual Harvest Bowl program at North Dakota State University, on Nov. 10.
Information on the outstanding agriculturists listed by county is available at bit.ly/2017HarvestBowlBios, and photos are available at bit.ly/2017HarvestBowlPhotos
2017 Harvest Bowl honorees by county, name and city:
* Adams — Wayne and Gail Weishaar, Lemmon, S.D.
* Barnes — Reuben and Beth Viland, Valley City
* Benson — Donal and Stephanie Buckmier, Maddock
* Billings — Roy and Cheryl Krivoruchka, Belfield
* Bottineau — David and Linda Kyle, Bottineau
* Bowman — Randy and Connie Gaebe, Bowman
* Burke — Joe and Darla Peterson, Bowbells
* Burleigh — Mark and Sandra Holkup, Bismarck
* Cass — Lyle and Eileen Schultz, Wheatland
* Cass – Ryan and Kristi Schultz, Wheatland
* Cavalier — Jon and Carissa Iverson, Langdon
* Dickey — NaTanya Olson, Forbes
* Divide — Wade and Lori Bjorgen, Westby, Mont.
* Dunn — Gene and Gynell Harris, Killdeer
* Eddy — Dennis and LeAnn Weber, Sheyenne
* Eddy – Darin and Diana Weber, Sheyenne
* Emmons — Steve and Sally Huizenga, Hague
* Fort Berthold — Blaine and Mary Foote, New Town
* Foster – Roger and Nurgul Gussiaas, Carrington
* Golden Valley — Donnie and Trisha Feiring, Beach
* Grand Forks — Dennis McCoy, Northwood
* Grant – Dick and Jessica Woodbury, Carson
* Griggs — Patrick and Jill Larson, Hannaford
* Hettinger — Marvin and Bernadine Jorstad, Regent
* Kidder — Roger and Jan Koester, Steele
* LaMoure — Don and Eileen Geske, Verona
* Logan — Richard and Sonya Gross, Napoleon
* McHenry — John and Mary Odland, Velva
* McIntosh — Lloyd and Lila Raile, Wishek
* McKenzie — Kent and Anita Pederson, Arnegard
* McLean — Steven and Katie Heger, Underwood
* Mercer — Jonathan and Michelle Schlender, Zap
* Morton — Archie and Anne Marie Wanner, Hebron
* Mountrail — Barb and Alan DeTienne, Parshall
* Nelson — Allen and Lori Ternquist, Michigan
* Oliver — Darrell and Karla Schulte, Center
* Pembina — Phillip and Corliss Longtin, Walhalla
* Pierce — Jim and Rita Teigen, Rugby
* Ramsey — Thomas and Melissa Hodous, Edmore
* Ransom — Ardis Taylor, Lisbon
* Renville — Pat and Diane Murphy, Minot
* Richland — Douglas and Linda Kuruc, Colfax
* Rolette — Bill and Kim Biberdorf, Rolette
* Sargent — Randy and Cheri Pearson, Milnor
* Sheridan — Kevin and Julie Bender, Goodrich
* Sioux — Jamie Heid, Selfridge
* Slope — Glenn and LaVonne Wegner, Bowman
* Stark — Ambrose and Charlotte Hoff, Richardton
* Steele — Jeremy and Lindsey Johnson, Sharon
* Stutsman — Ryan and Whitney Huebner, Jamestown
* Towner — Tim and Jessie Mickelson, Perth
* Traill — Glen and Barb Hultin, Hillsboro
* Walsh — Jack and Dorothy Karas, Lankin
* Ward — Robert and Valerie Bahm, Minot
* Wells — Sam and Amy Ongstad, Harvey
* Williams — Dennis and Mavis Johnsrud, Epping
Minnesota honorees by county, name and city:
* Becker — Keven and Denise Olson, Detroit Lakes
* Clay — David and Gloria Lee, Georgetown
* Kittson — Wayne Langen and Kathryn Rynning, Kennedy
* Marshall — Merle and Debra Stinar, Warren
* Norman — Valerie Riepe, Twin Valley
* Otter Tail — Arnold and Carol Rethemeier, Perham
* Polk — James and Jennifer Larson, Fertile
* Traverse — Rodd and Jamie Beyer, Wheaton
* Wilkin — Jeff and Rebekah Christensen, Campbell
An agribusiness award recipient also is chosen annually. This award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves in the field of agriculture and business in North Dakota and beyond. This year’s award recipient was Jack Dalrymple, former Governor of North Dakota. More Dalrymple information is available at bit.ly/2017HarvestBowlAgribusinessAward.

Add Comment