EYE on South West ND Sports

The University of Mary women’s cross country team placed second at the NCAA Division II national championships for the second year in a row. 

Sheldon Christenson
For the record

Five Marauders earned All-American honors by placing in the top 40.  Former Night Hawk Taylor Hestekin was one of them as she placed 29th with a time of 23:20.7.

Dickinson Trinity girls fell to the pre-season power poll #1 team Thompson, 54-30.  Bowman girls opened their season with a 42-27 win over Flasher.  Flasher came in as the #13 in the pre-season power poll but two new players joining the team, 6’1” Camryn Alt and 5’11” Coral Alt, evidently were not playing as their names were not in the box score.

The first North Dakota Class B girls basketball poll of the 2018-19 season was released Monday, December 3.  The is voted on by members of the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NDAPSSA).

1. Thompson (13) 2-0 164

2. Kindred (2) 2-0 146

3. Langdon Area/Edmore/Munich (1) 1-0 126

4. Rugby (1) 4-0 117

5. Shiloh Christian 2-0 82

6. Velva 3-0 72

7. Grafton 1-0 55

8. Oakes 2-0 29

9. Kidder County 3-0 25

10. Linton-HMB 3-0 23

Others Receiving Votes (RV): Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier (1-0), Trenton (0-0), Hettinger-Scranton (1-1), Bowman County (1-0), Four Winds-Minnewaukan (2-1), Harvey-Wells County (3-1), Beach (2-0), Carrington (0-1), Center-Stanton (1-0), Grant County (2-0), Oak Grove (0-1).

The 2018 North Dakota High School Coaches Association (NDHSCA) All-State 9-man Football Team as voted on by the state’s 9-man football coaches has been named.  First team players from Region 5 are Quarterback Evan Henke and Running Back Brayden Zuroff, New Salem-Glen Ullin; Linebacker Canaan Fagerland, Shiloh Christian.

First team players from the future 2019-2020 Region 4 are QB Sr. Jamison Fettig, Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter; Linebacker Sr. Nathan Weigel, Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter; Defensive Line Sr. Jaxon Deckert, Kidder County. 

The following made the second team from Region 5: Garret Soupir and Chauncey Dittus from New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin, Josh Lardy and Jaden Mitzel from Shiloh Christian and Zack Schmalenberger from Richardton-Taylor-Hebron.  From the future Region 4: Tyler Long from Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter.

NDHSCA 9-man Senior Athlete of the Year:  Evan Henke, New Salem/Glen Ullin

NDHSCA 9-man Football Coach of the Year:  Steve Kleinjan, New Salem/Glen Ullin    

Note:  New Salem-Almont-Glen Ullin, Shiloh Christian and Richardton-Taylor-Hebron will be  moving up to 11-Man for 2019-20.   Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter and Kidder County along with Linton, Strasburg and South Border will be joining the Night Hawks, Beach, Grant Co. and Mott-Regent/New England to make up Region 4.