Did you know?

I was going through some 1994 editions of the Adams County Record and came across what I thought was interesting. Here are a few:

Sheldon Christenson
For the Record

– A leading indicator of economic health shows Adams County exceeding the pace of the state of North Dakota as a whole in the third quarter of 1993.
– Quinn Mariah Cameron was the first baby born at the West River Regional Medical Center in Hettinger in 1994. Her parents are Lisa and Rob Cameron.
– The Belle Fourche Broncs handed the Hettinger Black Devils their first loss, 56-52, of the 1993-94 season after eight straight wins. Jesse Vliem led the Black Devils with 18 points followed by Richard Bjerklie, Jon LeFebre and Brent Erickson each with 12.
– Sheriff Bob Bartz decided not to run for re-election as he will be going back to private life.
– The House of Liquors is not operating at a significant profit and the future of it is dim.
– Two new businesses will be celebrating their grand opening on January 29. They are Matt’s Barber Shop and Cowles Custom Boots.
– Halvorson’s Super Value announced “new general movie rental rates”. An example was five movies for five days for five bucks.
– Elbert Andress was named Athlete of the week. He recorded four wins in the East/West Wrestling Tournament and ran his record to 34-0. He also set a Hettinger High School career record of wins with 133.
– Ronda Viken, a former Hettinger trackster, ran the anchor leg of the winning 4X400 meter relay at the Iowa State Open.
– The Black Devils finished in tenth place at the state wrestling meet. Albert Andress placed first, Kayle Dangerud 4th, Josh Stadeim 7th and Juell Schaible and Dusty Seamands 8th.
– Heidi Erickson was nominated for a Daughters of the American Revolution scholarship.
– Melissa Morey and Melissa Lewton passed auditions to play in the All-State band.
– The Black Devils basketball team downed Regent in the region championship game and earned a trip to the state tourney. Jesse Vliem led the Devils with 31. They went on to finish fifth at state.
– The Adams County Record was named the best little newspaper in North Dakota.
– Jason Doe broke a 36 year old school record in the long jump with a jump of 21’8 and 3/4”. The old record was held by Jim Walby.
– Chad Chadwick opened a new business called “Backyard Mechanics”.
– The class of 94 had a cereal box made with their class picture on front.
– Kip David Moen was selected as the state’s 1994-95 “Distinguished Student”.
– Sheriff Eugene Molbert and deputy Rob Buckmier encountered a scuffle when trying to arrest a suspect and Buckmier was bitten by the suspect.
– The Hettinger Bears took third place in the Darrel Leetun baseball tourney with 2-2 record. They defeated Box Elder and Rolla and lost to Ray and tournament champs Sawyer-Surrey.
– Ben Franklin was offering barbecue grills at 25-50% off.
– Wally Beckman, former Hettinger player, took over as the Bowman head basketball coach.
– Hettinger girls 13-18 year old softball team took first place in a Hettinger tourney. They defeated Elgin, Mott and Lemmon.
– The Hettinger Bears lost to Bowman, 10-3, in the District 15 legion championship game.
– Superpumper was offering 12” Tombstone pizzas for $3.29 and unleaded gas at $1.27 a gallon.
– Adams County Record editor Tony Bender has been promoted and will step down as the ACR editor in October. Neil Nelson was selected as the new editor of the ACR.
– Led by Krista Gunther’s 18 points and Becky LeFebre 17 points the Lady Devils downed Lemmon 46-45.
– Kari Butterfield and Jesse Vliem were nominated for the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award. They were recognized for their academics, community service and sports.
– The Black Devils finished their football season with an 8-3 loss to Killdeer and a 4-5 season record.
– For the second time in five months the Stagger Inn was robbed.
– Ted Uecker lost his bid to unseat District 35 incumbent Aaron Krauter by 500 votes.
– The Lady Devils finished fourth at the Region tournament.
– Kent Brackel rolled a 246 in the Merchant’s Handicap bowling league.
– Elbert Andress, Jesse Vliem, Nate Becker and Jon Braaten were named to the Badlands All-Conference football teams.

Add Comment